Formula 1 accelerated to start the season in Austria on July 3

The Formula 1 season will start in Austria next month and all eight European races will be held behind closed doors.

The races were suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic with contests in France, Monaco, Australia and the Netherlands scrapped.

But the season will resume on July 3 with two consecutive weekends of competition in Austria, with the Hungarian Grand Prix taking place a week later.

Two races at Silverstone in Great Britain will follow a two-week break, while the Spanish Grand Prix, which was originally scheduled for May, will take place in mid-August.

Belgian and Italian events will complete the European calendar.

European F1 2020 calendar

  • July 3-5: Austrian Grand Prix
  • July 10-12: Steiermark Grand Prix
  • July 17-19: Hungarian Grand Prix
  • July 31-August 2: Grand Prix of Great Britain
  • August 7 to 9: 70th Anniversary Grand Prix
  • August 14-16: Grand Prix of Spain
  • August 28-30: Belgian Grand Prix
  • September 4-6: Italian Grand Prix

15 to 18 races
“F1 currently expects the opening races to be closed events, but we hope that fans will be able to attend again when it is safe to do so,” the organization said in a statement.

He added that “he will finalize the details of the broader schedule and we hope to publish it in the coming weeks with the expectation of having a total of 15-18 races before completing the season in December.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *